Personal Homepage

PD Dr. rer. nat. habil. Doris Pospiech

Polymer Structures
+49 351 4658 497 +49 351 4658 565

Dr. Doris Pospiech is chemist and (retired) scientific coworker (guest scientist) at IPF, Institute Macromolecular Chemistry. She is research group leader "Functional Polymers" in the department "Polymer Structures", teaches at Technical University of Dresden, School of Sciences, Faculty Chemistry and Food Chemistry, as private lecturer (Privatdozentin), and supervises PhD students.

Research fields

Design of new polymers, hybrids and nanocomposites with tailor-made properties on the base of well-understood structure-property relationships.
Synthesis of new polymers by anionic, controlled radical, and UV polymerization, as well as by polycondensation and polyaddition:

  • Functional Methacrylate copolymers: with immobilized enzymes for the removal of persistent organic trace compounds; with biocidal units to induce anti-biofouling effects into coatings; with semifluorinated monomers to create surfaces with low surface energy
  • Polymer Electrolytes based on ionic liquid monomers for Lithium Ion Batteries (with  Dr. M. Wolter, Fraunhofer IKTS) and Redox Batteries (with Dr. P. Uhlmann, IPF, and Prof. U.S. Schubert, FSU Jena)
  • Nanostructured block copolymers as molecular batteries (with Dr. P. Uhlmann, IPF, and Prof. U.S. Schubert, FSU Jena)
  • Polymers for halogen-free flame retardancy with phosphorus-containing subunits for flame retardant polyesters (with Dr. S. Tretsiakova-McNally, Uni Ulster and Prof. P. Joseph, Victoria University, Melbourne, Aus)  and polyurethanes (with Dr. B. Schartel, BAM Berlin, and Covestro))
  • Biobased polyesters and polyester nanocomposites (with Prof. El Fray, WPUT Szczecin)
  • Lignin-containing precursors for Carbon fibers (with Prof. S. Fischer, IPHC, TUD)
  • Modified polyesters for PBT particle foams (with Prof. V. Altstädt and ÜProf. Ruckdäschl, Uni Bayreuth)
  • Polyesters for 3D printing (with Dr. H. Brünig, IPF, and Prof. El Fray, WPUT Szczecin)




Permanent staff:

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Kathrin Eckstein

Technician Andreas Korwitz

Technician Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Oliver Kobsch

PhD students:

M.Sc. Christoph Horn (Project Bmbf-KMU_Innovativ CeraFe+)

M.Sc. Christian Mielke (DFG Project PBT Foams, with Uni Bayreuth)

M.Sc. Lisa Ehrlich (DFG Project Polymer electrolytes in DFG-SPP Solid State Batteries, with FSU Jena)



Important collaborations

National collaborations:

Dr. R. Albach and Dr. M. Paven, Covestro Deutschland AG

Prof. V. Altstädt, Uni Bayreuth

Prof. S. Fischer, TU Dresden IPHC, Tharandt

Dr. R. Hommel, ifn-FTZ GmbH, Tröglitz-Elsteraue

Prof. Kaiser and P. Allertz, BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg

Dr. K. Licha, FEW Chemicals GmbH, Bitterfeld

Prof. C. Papadakis, Uni Munich

Prof. K. Salchert, HTW Dresden

Dr. B. Schartel, BAM Berlin

Prof. Dr. U. S. Schubert and Dr. M. Hager, FSU Jena

Dr. M. Wolter and Dr. K. Nikolowski, Fraunhofer IKTS, Dresden


International collaborations:

 Prof. S. Banerjee, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India

Prof. R. Bongiovanni, Prof. G. Malucelli, Politecnic Turin, Italy

Prof. M. El Fray, West Pomeranian University of Technology, Szczecin, Poland

Prof. L. Hutchings, Durham University, UK

Dr. S. Tretsiakova-McNally, University Ulster, Ireland

Prof. P. Joseph, Victoria University, Melbourne, Australia


Collaborations with companies:

Ivoclar Vivadent AG, Liechtenstein

Covestro Deutschland AG, Leverkusen

ifn-FTZ, Elsteraue

FEW Chemicals GmbH, Bitterfeld-Wolfen

Synthon Chemicals, Bitterfeld Wolfen

Glatt Ingenieurtechnik GmbH, Weimar

Cylindrical structure of a nanophase separated

methacrylate-based diblock copolymer

as thin film on silicon wafer (1 x 1 µm)