1st International Symposium on POLYmer modification With High Energy ELectrons, November 24th to 26th, 2010

Registration and abstract submission      Second announcement/PROGRAM

Social and accompanying persons' program      Hotel reservation  

Unfortunately, most of the accompanying persons' programs had to be cancelled due to lack of registrations.

It is our pleasure to invite you to the 1st International Symposium on POLYmer modification With High Energy ELectrons – POLYWHEEL 2010. This symposium takes place due to the tradition of successful national meetings in Dresden since 2002. The national meetings were attended by researchers from industry as well as universities and research institutions not only from Germany, but also from Europe.

The 1st symposium POLYWHEEL 2010 is organised by the Leibniz Institute of Polymer Research Dresden and the Technische Universität Dresden. The conference is held at the Technische Universität Dresden which is located close to the centre of the city.

This symposium is intended to be the meeting place for industrial experts and academic researchers from all over the world in order to bring together application oriented research with industrial requirements in polymer modification via high energy electrons.

Major topics of the meeting include:

  • compact high power electron accelerators
  • electron beam technology for polymer modification
  • polymers and biomaterials
  • polymer blends
  • polymer composites

Most important aspects and recent developments of blends, composites, and biomaterials using high energy electrons are covered. This includes both application related research and application related product and technology development.

Invited talks have been confirmed by:
Fraser Buchanan (UK)
Siegbert Lapp (Germany)
Arne Miller (Denmark)


The conference will take place on the campus of the
Technische Universität Dresden (Dülfersaal, Dülferstraße 1, 01069 Dresden). We hope that we can welcome you in the pleasant city of Dresden and that you will actively participate in POLYWHEEL 2010.


Gert Heinrich, IPF Dresden and Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
Uwe Gohs, IPF Dresden, Germany


by email:
by phone: Dr. Uwe Gohs, +49 351 4658-239

technical organization: Julia Dorok, +49 351 4658-282
Leibniz-Institut für Polymerforschung Dresden e. V.,
Hohe Str. 6, 01069 Dresden
Fax: +49 351 4658-214


The program consists of invited lectures, contributed lectures and posters. All lectures are presented in one session. A special poster session is scheduled on Thursday afternoon.

Posters can still be submitted as long as space is available. SUBMIT

The symposium will start in the afternoon of Wednesday, November 24, in Dülfersaal with
registration: from 17:00
welcome mixer: 18:00to 20:00.
The scientific program is scheduled from Thursday morning to Friday noon.

Important Dates

Submission of oral presentations: deadline expired
Submission of posters: still possible as long as space permits
Early registration deadline: October 15, 2010
Cancellation deadline: November 10, 2010
Registration desk open: Wed., Nov. 24, 2010, 17:00-19:00 - from Thu, Nov. 25, 2010, 8:00 throughtout the sessions


Early registration fee (valid till Oct. 15): EUR 190
Early registration fee for students (valid till Oct. 15): EUR 95
Registration fee (after Oct. 15): EUR 220
Registration fee for students (after Oct. 15): EUR 105

(including conference materials, lunches, coffee breaks, welcome mixer and conference dinner).

Accompanying persons can be registered for a flatrate of EUR 150 for a package of six social/cultural events or for each of the events separately. 

Conference office open for registration:
Wednesday, Nov. 24, 17:00 to 19:30
Thursday, Nov. 25, from 8:00 

Social program

The social program will include a welcome mixer on Wednesday evening and conference dinner on Thursday. In addition a post-conference museum tour (Albertinum - extra charge ) is offered as well as several sightseeing programs for accompanying persons. Details here

Scientific committee

Giovanini Camino, Torino, Italy
Philippe Cassagnau, Lyon, France
Walter W. Focke, Pretoria, South Africa
Wolfgang Kern, Leoben, Austria
Kinsuk Naskar, Kharagpur, India
Miroslav Slouf, Prague, Czech Republic
Michael Stephan, Dresden, Germany
D.-Y. Wang, Chengdu, China

Organising committee

Sina Burkert, Dresden, Germany
Anne Hofmann, Dresden, Germany
Julia Dorok, Dresden, Germany
Michael Spaethe, Dresden, Germany
Kerstin Wustrack, Dresden, Germany
Carsten Zschech, Dresden, Germany